Enter the Journey

RCIA 2015-2016


DSC_0088What is RCIA? The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults is the process of becoming a Catholic. In the RCIA process inquirers enter into an extended time of formation in which they discern and welcome God’s invitation to embrace life in the Catholic Christian community. During this process of initiation a person grows in knowledge of the teachings of the Church, explores the meaning of the Scriptures for daily life, develops friendships with members of the parish community, learns to pray and worship in the Catholic tradition, and discovers the joy of serving others. RCIA is also for anyone interested in learning more about the Catholic faith or learning about faith in a new way.


Sacraments of Initiation

We call Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist the initiation sacraments, because they are the foundations of the Christian life. Through these sacraments, we are immersed or initiated into the mystery of Christ’s saving death and Resurrection.


In Baptism we are immersed into the dying and rising of Christ, all our sins are forgiven, original sin as well as all personal sin. We become a new creation in Baptism. Our old selves are put to death and we emerge from the waters of Baptism reborn as sons and daughters of God. Baptism, then, is more than just a rite for Church membership. When we are joined to Christ, we are united to him in such an intimate way that Saint Paul could write, “It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me” (Galatians 2:20). One with Christ, we share his mission as priest, prophet and king.



Confirmation is intimately connected with Baptism. It brings an increase and deepening of baptismal grace. In the sacrament of Confirmation, we are sealed with the Gifts of the Holy Spirit. Through this anointing with holy chrism oil and the imposition of hands, we are conformed more closely to Christ and are more perfectly bound to the Church so that we may bear witness to him in the world. Through Baptism and Confirmation, we become missionaries commissioned to carry on the work of Jesus.


We call the Eucharist a sacrament of initiation because our participation in the Eucharist brings about a unity with the People of God and communion with Christ at a very profound level. The Holy Eucharist completes our Christian initiation, but it is the only one of the three sacraments of initiation that is repeatable. We return to the Lord’s table again and again because each day provides a new occasion to be initiated more deeply into the mystery of Christ by joining our sacrifices with his.


RCIA Process

RCIA is part of a four stage process. There is no set time period for any stage. The first stage, precatechumenate is the time of inquiry, asking questions and introduction in the Gospel. The second stage, catechumenate is a time of learning and formation. During this time inquirers develop spiritually and get to know the parish through Sunday worship. The Period of Purification and Enlightenment is a more intense time of preparation  and spiritual development. The last stage, the period of mystagogy is the rest of your life! It is a time for living in Christ.

For more information please contact Roberta at 330-452-9539 or [email protected].

Click here to view the R.C.I.A brochure and interest form.


2015 Easter Vigil

Congratulations Debbie, LouAnn & Kelly

Rite of Sending and Rite of Election